Published On: Tue, Jun 21st, 2011

Govt reconstitutes Press Council of India

Government has reconstituted the Press Council of India inducting 27 new members for a three-year term.

The new members are Vijay Kumar Chopra, R Lakshmipathy, Sanjay Gupta, Gurinder Singh, V K Chopra from the category of ‘Owners and Managers of Big, Medium and Small Newspapers’.

Similarly, members from the category of ‘Editors’ are K S Sachidananda Murthy, Shravan Kumar Garg, Jagjit Singh Dardi, Sheetla Singh, Anil Jugalkishor Agrawal and Bishambhar Newar, according to a gazette notification.

In the category of ‘Working Journalists other than Editors’, Rajeev Ranjan Nag, Uppala Lakshman, Arvind S Tengse, Kosuri Amarnath and Kalyan Barooah, Sondeep Shankar and Arun Kumar have been inducted in the reconstituted council.

The new members also include MPs such as Meenakshi Natrajan, Harin Pathak, Sanjay Dina Patil, Rajeev Shukla and Prakash Javadekar.

Rajeev Sabade is a nominee of UGC in the reconstituted council.